Capturing

After the initial moves, the two armies advance into combat. It: is a basic rule of chess that two pieces cannot occupy the same square simultaneously. When a unit moves to a square already occupied by an enemy piece, a capture takes place and the original occupier is killed, i.e., removed from the board. You may not capture a unit belonging to your own side.

In contrast with checkers, there is no rule insisting that you must accept every opportunity to capture, unless to do so is the only way to save your king from check or checkmate.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment