K x PKB and wins

as White cannot prevent mate or loss of the Rook.

But if: 3 K—B 4, Black must now protect his Pawn. If 3

R—Kt 7 White can play 4 R—K R, for if 4 R—Kt 8. 5

R—R 2, ch., etc. Or if 4 R^B 7, ch. 5 K—Kt 3! or if 4

Hence Black must continue after 4 R—K R.

to White's 11th move.

black

white

White to play.

If Black is on the move, he draws easily by R—Kt 3. The R simply remains on that rank to prevent the entrance of the White K. If White ever plays P—B 6 then at once R—Kt 8 (or any square far enough to the rear) K—Kt 6, R—Kt 8, ch. The K cannot hide, and is forced away.

But in the diagram position it is White's move. He plays.

Now Black has a hard problem. If 1 , R—Kt 3, ch;

2 P—B 6, R—Kt (mate by R—R 8 was threatened). 3 R—R 7, K—Kt. 4 P—B 7, ch., K—B. 5 R—R 8, ch. wins.

If 1 , R—Kt 8. ch. 2 K—B 6, K—Q. 3 R—R 8, ch.,

K—K 2. 4 K—B 7 with a winning ending. White will advance P— B 6, K—B 8, P—B 7. Then with the aid of the R, he will force the Black K out of the way, and soon Queen his Pawn.

What, then is Black to do? He has actually but one move to draw.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment