Game Eight

It is well known that Korchnoi plays less well when he is angry and before the eighth game the Soviets pulled off a master stroke which made him see red. Without warning Karpov coyly refused the customary handshake at the beginning of the game and Korchnoi was left with his hand suspended pointlessly in mid-air. Simultaneously, in the press centre beneath the playing hall, the Soviet press chief Roshal issued a rather vague statement justifying Karpov's action Recent events have shown that the...

Game Eleven

The number of protests was now increasing exponentially and rival press conferences were littering all the public buildings. The Russians issued a reply to Ms. Leeuwerik's inflammatory statement of 8th August. It was entitled Chess Match in The Philippines Is Not A Training Ground For The Cold War and contained attacks on Korchnoi, myself and especially Ms. Leeuwerik This woman, who never had anything to do with chess and the international chess movement, who openly declares of her spiteful...

P Leeuwerik

To the chief arbiter Herr Lothar Schmid Thursday July 20 1978 It was observed during the second game today that at one point a yoghourt was passed to Mr Karpov from the Soviet delegation via one of the arbiters. According to the FIDE rules for the World Championship section 4.54 an arbiter may make and receive emergency calls at the special phone in his dressing room. There shall be no other communication into or out of the restricted area. Restricted Area is defined in Section 4.5 . Reception...